There’s a Bluebird in My Heart

I forgot to mention this earlier, but the night I crossed the Golden Gate Bridge and was checking out a shelter spot in this small valley, I prayed to the spirits, asking if this was an OK place to sleep. The first message I got was Look for the sign. I asked for clarification and got This is fine.

The next morning, as I was packing up, I saw a bluebird land in a bush nearby.

The bluebird is a significant bird to me because 1). The poem by Charles Bukowski titled “Bluebird” is one of my favorites and 2). I saw the movie K-Pax right before I left for San Francisco, and in the movie, Kevin Spacey’s alien character instructs a mental hospital patient to find “the Bluebird of Happiness” as the first step towards achieving inner peace.

Honestly, I’m not sure if the bird I saw was a bluebird or not. All I know is that it was blue, it was a bird, and that was good enough for me.

And that’s how the bluebird became the official bird of my pilgrimage.

Now whenever I see it, I take it as a sign of happiness and hope.

There’s a
bluebird in
in my heart
that wanted
to get out
so finally I
let him out
and it was very nice
to have him out
and I laughed
and smiled a lot
and yes, Charles,
I do weep
too.

Leave a Reply

