“Bluebird” by Charles Bukowski

 

One thought on ““Bluebird” by Charles Bukowski

  1. Aw, great pick, but it makes me sad that you might relate to this poem.
    In high school I was way into Bukowski, as well as the stream of consciousness pop rockers ‘They Might Be Giants’. And I have always wondered if their song ‘Birdhouse in Your Soul’ was inspired by Bukowski’s bluebird poem. What do you think? I even wrote them a letter asking if this was the case but never got a reply.

    So if you can’t find a way to let that bluebird in your heart out I hope you can at the very least build a birdhouse in your soul for the little bugger. Also have you TRIED weeping? I do it all the time, it can be pretty cathartic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

