“Sweatshop”

I’m washing dishes
and hating
every minute of it
hating it
hating it
hating it
hating
the way
there’s just
so many of them
when all we did
was re-heat
fucking leftovers
and
hating
the way
my back aches
(my scoliosis, I have
scoliosis, you know,
so my back has to work
much, much
harder
than your average back)
oh yes
and hating
the way
my knees lock
because
I don’t like
to bend
my knees
for an entire dish-washing
period because
it makes me feel
like
I’m going
to take
a shit
at any moment
being
in this semi-squat
state
my bowels
get confused
and they think, “Oh!
We’re very relaxed
right now. Let’s
do this!”
and I don’t want
to shit
myself
at the kitchen sink
so
I bend my back
instead
of my knees
which
I know
is bad
for both
back and knees
but there you go)
So you see
why I hate
doing dishes
and I see
a small pot
that has
MADE IN CHINA
stamped on the bottom
and I think
I should
probably
just
shut
the fuck
up.

Leave a Reply

