“Radical Leftists on Twitter”

I follow
too many
radical leftists
on Twitter

I have nothing
against
radical leftists
In fact
I agree
with
most
radical leftist
positions

I just FOLLOW
too many
radical leftists
on Twitter

It’s the same tweets
over and over
don’t matter
who’s tweeting
it’s the same voice
the same party line
over
and
over
and
over
again
and it’s driving me
mad
which,
being The Mad Griot,
is saying A LOT
but in all honesty
if I see
just
one more tweet
that has the word
“intersectionality”
or
“patriarchy”
or
“white supremacy”
or
“cis-anything
in it
I’m going to lose my shit
and join the Republican Party
just for the hell of it
I’ll follow Megyn Kelly
and Bill O’Reilly
deny the reality
of the Holocaust
Tell black folks
“Slavery’s over.
Time to
start pulling
your own weight
preferably
by the bootstraps.”
I’ll tell feminists
all they need
is a good man
and a good lay
I’ll stop calling for
the shutdown of
Guantanamo Bay
I’ll praise Obama
drone strikes
’cause if those brown
desert people
hadn’t wanted to get blown up
then
they shouldn’t have been
brown desert people
in the first place!
God Bless America!
Long live capitalism!
I’ma sit back, relax,
sleep well on the pillow of
middle-class privilege
and shut out all the radical leftists
who have transformed
my Twitter feed
into a torrent of
radical leftist rhetoric
that makes me
feel guilty
about not wanting
to wallow
in the overall shittiness
of the human condition
every waking second
that makes me feel guilty
about not exploding
with rage
at every racial and social and political and ecological
injustice that occurs on this planet
that makes me feel guilty
and naive
for wanting to believe
in
the essential
goodness
of human beings
even if
those human beings
happen to be
rich white men
that makes me feel guilty
about wanting to believe
in the power
of positivity
and of love
and of acceptance
and of forgiveness

but

since the Right
is pretty good
about making me
feel guilty
about believing
in all that stuff
too
it’s probably
best
if I just
don’t
follow
SO MANY
radical leftists
on Twitter

4 thoughts on ““Radical Leftists on Twitter”

  1. Great! Walk that middle path! Reminds me of John Stewart’s speech from the Rally to Restore Sanity a few years back…..
    “If we amplify everything we hear nothing”
    “The press is our immune system, if it overreacts to everything we actually get sicker.”
    “There will always be darkness, and sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel isn’t the promise land, sometimes its just New Jersey.”

    …..but then again Bill Maher makes some really good points too!….

    Like

Leave a Reply

