“The Mouse Trap”

600px-Lab_mouse_mg_3135
CLAP!

Goes
the mouse
trap.

Damn.

Muthafucka
only wanted
some peanut butter.

What was he
supposed
to do?

You’re a mouse
You smell peanut butter
You find it.

Because you’re a mouse.

That’s the way it is.
It is.

Trap’s got a handle
makes it easier
to handle
Don’t have to touch it.

Still gotta look at it though.

That can’t be helped.
It really can’t.

I lift the trap
expecting
the body
to be
stiff as a board
but it’s limp
and yields
easily
to gravity.

I should bury it.
But I won’t.
I’ll chuck it in the trash
because it’s late
and cold
and my human
-ness
functions
best
at seventy-six degrees
before eight
o’clock.

My cowardice
and laziness
haunt me
for a time
I console
myself
with the knowledge
that
the earth
will consume
a dead mouse
whether it’s
in
a
landfill or buried
in the backyard

Maggot food
is maggot food
It really doesn’t matter.
It really doesn’t.

It couldn’t have happened
any other way
It really couldn’t.

There.
Now I can sleep.
And when I wake
I’ll have something
nice to eat.

Leave a Reply

