“Honduras”

542px-Coat_of_arms_of_Honduras.svg

I was in
Honduras
last week
man.
It was tight!

If you’ve
never been
to Honduras
you gotta go
you
GOTSTA
go!

Folks
are
radical there
man!
Folks are
CONSCIOUS
there!

I met
these old ladies
while I was waiting
in line
waiting to get my ticket
to
Honduras
and they were like
“Have you read
Marx?
Goldman?
X?
Huey P?
If you have not
then you will
not understand
Honduras!”

When I stepped
off the plane
in Honduras
I was greeted
by crowds screaming
“Bienvenido!”
Someone will ask
you
if you have a place to stay
and if you say, “No”
they will insist you
stay
with them.

A husband and wife
took me
in.
They demanded stories
from my life
where I’ve been
what I believe
who I love
who I’ve betrayed
They tell me
the story of how they
met.
The wife’s sister
(she lived
in the next
building over)
shouted at us.
She had a hot date
that night.
What should
she wear?
“The purple dress, Carmen!”
shouted my hostess.
“Wear that
and you
will have him!”

I wandered
into
an
Afro-Honduran
neighborhood.
I saw men and women
toned and muscular
armed to the teeth
Ammunition belts
wrapped
around
their torsos.
Brandishing
assault rifles
and
katana blades.
There is no crime
in these neighborhoods.
“We do not use
these weapons
against each other!”
they say.
“We use them
to defend ourselves
against
the colonizers
against
the patriarchy.
Any man who does
not respect
women
is not a real man
at all!”

“Viva la libertad!”
“Viva la libertad!”
“Viva la libertad!”

 

I’ve never
been to
Honduras
before
and the best thing
about never having
been to a place
is that
when you go there
in your dreams
it will be like
it will be like

it will be like
whatever you
want it
to
be.

Leave a Reply

