“Finding the Right Audience”

Audience

One night I had a vision.  And in that vision, I saw a great, golden river flowing past me.

A wave came out of the river and took the shape of a bird.  Then it descended back into the river and became one with it.

Another wave came out of the river, this one taking the shape of a king sitting on his throne.  Then it descended back into the river and became one with it.

Another wave came out of the river, this one taking the shape of two armies locked in battle.  This wave also descended back into the river and became one with it.

When the vision had ended, I addressed the people of my town and said to them, “My friends, I have had a vision of God, and in that vision, I saw that God is like a great, golden river!”

The people of my town laughed at me.  “You are a fool,” they said.  “The scriptures say that man was made in the image of God.  If He is like anything, he is like us!”  And they would not hear my words.

I left my town so that I might address the creatures of the forest.  And I said to the creatures of the forest, “I have had a vision of God, and in that vision, I saw that God is like a great, golden river!”

The creatures of the forest laughed at me and said, “You are a fool.  Your own scriptures say that God’s thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are his ways your ways.  Clearly we are made in his image, for we creatures of the forest are as unlike to humans as humans are to God.  We honor nature; we do not spoil her as you do.  We move according to her rhythms and tides, for we are one, as surely as God is one.  If God is like anything, he is like us!”  And they would not hear my words.

So I turned to address the trees of the forest, and I said to the trees, “I have had a vision of God, and in that vision, I saw that God is like a great, golden river!”

The trees laughed at me and said, “You are a fool.  Your own scriptures speak of the Tree of Life. We are the living model of God’s omnipresence, for our roots are buried in the Lower World of the dead, our trunks inhabit the Middle World of the earth, and our branches extend into the Upper World of the heavens! If God is like anything, he is like us.”  And they would not hear my words.

So I made my way down to the banks of the Shanawah River, and I said to the river, “I have had a vision of God, and in that vision, I saw that God is like a great, golden river.”

And the river said, “Hail, prophet!”

2 thoughts on ““Finding the Right Audience”

Leave a Reply

