Blackness and Pilgrimage

359px-Harriet_Tubman_by_Squyer,_NPG,_c1885Some people have suggested that I wasn’t able to do what Peace Pilgrim did because she was white and I’m black.  They believe that people were less inclined to help me along the way, and that I was in much greater danger of being harmed, especially when going through rural areas.

It’s a very convincing argument, until I remember John Francis:

With God, all things are possible.

Also, people did stop and help me.  I was even offered rides, though I turned them down because I felt riding in a car would defeat the whole point.  Bringing food would have helped too.  Along with water, warm clothing, and possibly a tent.  It also would have helped if I’d been in the proper physical and spiritual condition.

As far as I can tell, the color of my skin had nothing to do with me not being able to complete the walk.  I simply wasn’t ready.

One thought on “Blackness and Pilgrimage

Leave a Reply

