Me vs. T-Mobile

Daryl Watson – Now With Smartphone!

After years of putting it off, I finally gave in and got an iPhone.

This is my old phone. My friend told me that when I used it to type out text messages, it sounded like the Wheel of Fortune wheel spinning.

Getting my new phone up and running wasn’t easy.

First, the phone sales rep screwed up my order and set me up with the wrong plan.  He told me he couldn’t change it right that minute and that it would be easier for me to call customer service the day my new phone arrived in the mail.  I asked him if I could go ahead and port the number of my old phone over to the new one.  He said that also would have to be done the day the phone arrived.

Okay.

The phone arrived as scheduled.  I called T-Mobile customer service and told them that I needed to A) change my plan for this new smartphone and B) switch the phone number from my current pre-paid phone over to the new phone.

The T-Mobile rep was confused. He thought I wanted to change my current pre-paid plan.  So he transferred me to a pre-paid customer service rep.  I told them I didn’t need to switch my pre-paid plan, but I did need to switch the phone number from my pre-paid phone to my smartphone. And I also needed to switch my smartphone plan.

I laid this out as simply as I could.  It wasn’t simple enough.  I was transferred to one person to another person to another person to another person.  By the time I was talking to the fifth person, I’d become one of those irate customers that customer service reps hate getting.

When I was transferred to the sixth person, I hung up.

Maybe this will be easier if I explain it in person, I thought.

I drove down to my neighborhood T-Mobile store.  I walked in and explained to the guy behind the counter that I have two phones: a pre-paid phone and a new smartphone.  I want to transfer the number from the pre-paid phone to the smartphone, and I want to change my current smartphone plan.

“You have to call the customer service people for that,” the man behind the desk said.  He handed me a cordless phone.

I stare at him in silence.

“You can hand the phone back to us once someone picks up,” he said.

I took the phone, held it to my ear and waited.  I heard ringing, then the familiar T-Mobile voice prompt.  I pressed whatever button I had to press to hear the instructions in English.

The next thing I heard was a dial tone.

I handed the phone back to the rep.  “It hung on me,”

“Really?” he said. “That’s weird.”

“Yeah, and honestly, I’m getting really tired of this shit.  I got transferred to five different people when I was on the phone back home and none of them could help me, then I come in here, you give me a phone number to call, and I get hung up on.  I don’t understand why someone here can’t just help me.”

I turned to another customer in the store and said, “You know what I mean?”

The customer laughed and nodded.  That’s when it hit me.  I’ve become that guy – the guy that’s now yelling at the store employees and then turns to other customers in the store for moral support.  I hate it when people do that to other people. I always think Why are you trying to drag me into your shitty situation?

Now I get it.

I felt bad, so I said to the reps  “I’m not trying to take it out on you; I know this isn’t your fault. I’m just frustrated.”

“Of course,” the rep said, “Don’t worry; I’ll get everything set up for you personally.” And he did and everything was fine after that.

Whatever.  At least I didn’t do this:

 

Leave a Reply

